- Julien Dyne


Julien Dyne is a multi-talented artist – a top New Zealand drummer, producer and visual artist. Best known for his work as the drummer for Opensouls and Tyra and the Tornadoes, Julien has also worked with the likes of Verse Two, Nathan Haines, Fat Freddy’s Drop and Ladi6. Since his selection for the Red Bull Music Academy in Rome in 2004 Julien has been working with international artists and forging his own unique sound as a producer. Julien spent two weeks in Cologne in 2007 where he recorded, collaborated and co-produced with legendary musicians and producers including the Mizell brothers (Motown/ Jackson 5, Donald Byrd, Bobbi Humphrey), Om'mas Keith (Sa- Ra), Steve Spacek, Mark Pritchard (Harmonic 313), Andreya Triana, Black Spade , Theo Parrish,Roman Rosic, Skymark and Sophie Loizou. Pins and Digits is Julien’s long awaited debut album, following the critical acclaim of his first release Phantom Limbo EP (2007). Phantom Limbo EP introduced Julien as a producer and served as a platform for him to showcase his sizable percussion and production skills – he expertly moulds together produced beats and live instrumentation to create a sound which encompasses hip hop and funk, afrobeat and jazz. The Sunday Star Times described the EP as “the most convincing local hybrid of jazz, funk and hip-hop I’ve heard in a very long time.” Lead single 'Maddingos' was nominated for a bnet award 2007, and remains a local anthem for DJs. Pins and Digits features guests spots from some of New Zealand’s most talented musicians including Jonathan Crayford, Paul Dyne, Lewis McCallum, Jeremy Toy (opensouls), John Bell, Isaac Aesili, Steph Brown and stand out tracks from the fresh vocal talents of Mara TK (Electric Wire Hustle) and Parks (Ladi6). Stylistically Pins and Digits combines the big bass, brass and beats aesthetic of the Phantom Limbo EP with futuristic keyboards and synthesised sounds.


Bbe 15 - 15 Years of Real Music for Real People - Compiled and Mixed by Chris Read
DJ Vadim, Vadim Peare, Marley Marl, Solo of Screwball, Marlon Lu'ree Williams, Osten Harvey, Jr., Marc Mac, Visioneers, Mark Anthony Clair, Pete Rock, The UN, Peter Phillips, Roy Ayers, Emo, Syrus, DJ Devastate, Segerfalk, Per Ronge, Freddy Foxxx, Peter O. Philips, C.L. Smooth, J. Wells, J-Force, Marlon Williams, Seven Shawn, Larry 0, Miss Man, will.i.am, Terry Dexter, William Adams, Richy Pitch, M.anifest, Richard Parker, Luisito Quintero, Louie Vega, Milton Cardona, José Mangual Jr., Luis Fernando Vager, Ty, Sway, Roses Gabor, Ben Chijioke, Drew Horleyy, Big Red, Katherine De Boer, Slakah the Beatchild, Byram Joseph, Aaron Jerome, Mozez, Aaron Jerome Foulds, Osunlade, Erro, Christian Carlos Warren, King James Britt, Nick Van Gelder, Dom Glover, Marco Rea, Million Dollar Orchestra, Ewan Kelly, Sabira Jade, Kwasi Asante, Marco Antônio Silva, Steve Spacek, Katalyst, Ashley Anderson, Oddisee, J-Live, Posdanous, Amir Mohamed el Khalifa, Capitol A, Parks, Julien Dyne, Mara TK, Benny Tones, Ben Horton, Oh No, Kazi, Krewcial, Pascal Garnier, Diverse, DJ Jazzy Jeff, Jean Grae, Jeffrey A. Townes, Dynas, Jazzy Jeff, Jay Dee, Elzhi, James Yancey, Frank N Dank, David Wright, Electric Wire Hustle, Mara Te Kahika, Kevin Brown, Pauly Yamz, Slum Village, Sena, Xantone Blacq, Funky DL, Lei-an, Naphta Newman, James Wilson Staub, DJ Spinna, Vincent Williams, Angela Johnson, King Britt, Ivana Santilli, Larry Gold, Black Thought, Gene McFadden, John Whitehead, Melvin Lewis, Tariq Trotter, Montez Roberts, Vikter Duplaix, James Poyser, GA, Tye Tribbett, V Duplaix, Kwesi Dankwa, Yungun, Al Kent, Shaun Escoffery, Eric Roberson, Madlib The Beat Konducta, Otis Jackson, Jr., Stacy Epps, Space Invadas, J Star, Osunlade
BBE Music | 2019-04-17
Nova Tunes 2.1_3.0 (2010-2014)
Wax Tailor, Voice, Ali Harter, Alborosie, Mayer Hawthorne, Speech Debelle, Mara TK, Julien Dyne, Alice Russel, Dafuniks, Barbara Aersoe, Joseph Agami, Beat Assailant, Ben l?Oncle Soul, The Heavy, Oslo Swan, Blakroc, Fat Freddy?s Drop, The Very Best, Ezra Koening, Bibi Tanga & The Selenites, Piers Faccini, Adama Yalomba, Bonobo, Andreya Triana, Aloe Black, Blundetto, Hindi Zahra, Raphael Gualazzi, 69, Mim Suleiman, Crookers, Roisin Murphy, Space Invadas, Simian Mobile Disco, Applause, Mardi Gras Brass Band, Darwin Deez, Jamie Lidell, Roce, Sil Matadin, Quantic, Flowering Inferno, Jaqee, The Black Keys, Gigz, Mock & Toof, Flight Facilities, Giselle, Whitey, Family of the Year, Nufrequency, Ben Onono, Appletop, Myron & E, The Soul Investigators, Bot'Ox, Dimlite, Discodeine, Jarvis Cocker, Luisa Maita, Roots Manuva, Wrongtom, Peder, Signe Marie Schmidt-Jacobsen, Shit Robot, Stacy Kidd, Peven Everett, Tom Fire, Matthew McAnuff, Kitty, Daisy & Lewis, Elephanz, Cuthead, Owiny Sigoma Band, Moriarty, Noze, dOP, Concrete Knives, Horseman, Hollie Cook, Timber Timbre, Midnight Magic, Part Company, Little Dragon, Slim Moore and the Mar-Kays, Valentina, Joe Goddart, The Shoes, The Rapture, Guts, Zoufris Maracas, Bajka, Sola Rosa, Kouyate-Neerman, Soap Kills, Benny Sings, Gregory Porter, Mr Williamz, Bonga, Ornette, isaac Delusion, Alexis HK, Shogun Orchestra, Chromatics, Plugs, Ondatropical, Jennie Abrahamson, Stand High Patrol, Souleance, Mina Tindle, The Underachievers, La Yegros, Melissa Laveaux, Toro Y Moi, alt-J, Nosaj Thing, Kazu Makino, Feloche, Karriem Riggins, Roseaux, Sweatshop, The White Lamp, Stubborn Heart, Kendra Morris, Fedayi Pacha, Nassim Kouti, Surahn, Grupo Canalon, Delroy Wilson, Skarra Mucci, Lady, Nu, Winston McAnuff, Fixi, Husbands, Ezechiel Pailhes, Pupajim, Stepart, Har Mar Superstar, Afrobombas, Elephant, Beverlay, La Maison Tellier, BarbaRossa, Babx, Stwo, Micky Green, Boardwalk, Bigott, Moh! Kouyate, RJD2, Phonte Coleman, Samaris, Pajaro Sunrise, Riviere Noire, Paul Noyah, Haute, Ben Khan, Naomi Shelton, Francois & The Atlas Mountains, Marina P, Dom La Nena, Rosemary Standley, Kid Francescoli, Teme Tan, Tommy Guerero, Red Axes, Abrão, Limousine, FARHOT, Boulpik, Black Atlass, Hercules & Love Affair, Ticklah, Gilles Peterson, Noze, Kaytranada
Nova Records | 2015-12-02